Tags

, , ,

[warning, a bit of a depressing post]

Survivors will always tell you #1 don’t give up & #2 to wait at least a year or two before making any big changes in one’s life such as making rash decisions to sell or get rid of stuff you enjoy really making sure you gauge recovery to how you will be able to safely do those enjoyed activities pre-stroke. Well one of my beloved activities was Woodworking. To be honest I was a bit of a budding novice, but timing-wise, I was really getting to learn the basics aiming for the hobby to hopefully become one of my then ‘identities’.

just ask my wife and I have to confess that I’m rather obsessed appreciating good quality tools one will be happy with that will hold up for years, not regretting the purchase. Not too long prior to the stroke I finally figured I was assembling what  could easily be termed as a cabinet shop having some real serious hard-wired pro-grade equipment with the lightest piece weighing in at about 500 lbs! All of this was rather thoughtfully crammed into a typical Seattle early last century single-car garage. Picture below was old not showing a few other pieces (band saw & drill-press).

img_0653

About up to a year post-stroke, I had been really hoping I would get a bit more recovery in my hand to at least safely work with the equipment again. Well nearly three years now I have some very little twitches at the most of a couple of fingers, even though I’m still working and getting PT. The shop is obviously a potentially dangerous place. Reality started to set in that it probably won’t be worth the constant battle with rust here in our moist NW environment if I do ever get it back.

Time & decision came a month or so ago to sell it all to someone who at least be getting some use out of it all.  I decided to sell all on Craigslist.  Demand was fairly high I think most of the sales were pretty fair, but boy did it ever feel like I just sold the farm! There were some really great stuff taking me over a year to research & accumulate. Buyers, especially one guy for the most part, must have completed his shop with all the items sold!

A week’s worth of poor sleep wondering if I did the right thing ensued. Some people such as therapists in my life I really wanted to scream at me advising not to get rid of it, citing  losing a big target to shoot for to regain use of my hand. Turns out I didn’t get a lot, more just sad faces. 😦

Today I went out there to start to clean & sweep up coming to the stark realization of just now how empty it is now. Guess we need to think of good uses for the space now. A full cabinet shop reduced to a pile of sawdust. I’m only keeping a couple of the more mobile pieces, but all big stuff is gone.

Am I giving up? I strongly say no, but it sure is a big loss I’ve had to go through. I understand there are still plenty of hobbies & activities e.g. snow skiing I can involve myself in, so moving on a will need to.

Thanks for listening to me vent!

img_20161127_133330

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

