Tags

, , , ,

Going through this experience I’ve realized getting by with one hand in a two-handed world performing daily tasks there are those that will never be the same regardless of the amount of recovery. For example, brushing my teeth.  I now always first squeeze toothpaste into my mouth rather than first on the toothbrush. It’s funny this now feels more efficient than what 99% of others do (& I as I did all my life leading up to). Other examples would be opening up small bottles and manipulating small objects with only my right hand where I’m not even sure I would use my left hand to aid no matter.

Of course all of this very much contributes neurologically to why I may have not achieved more recovery with my affected hand. Throughout this experience being right-handed,  I’ve been fortunate to have of had the stroke not affect my dominate hand as everyday tasks would be far more difficult! This all has caused the dominant right hand to become super-dominant. This is all known as learned-non-use where the brain knows the body is doing a decent job with the non affected side and more or less “forgets” about the affected side. To correct  is what the CIMT therapy I posted about aims to help with and hopefully reverse the years of the brain’s neglect of the survivor’s affected side.

At nearly the three-year mark now, I’m close to meeting the CIMT Taub clinic’s prerequisites, but enrolling in the program is an enormous commitment both financially and time wise. I would likely have to take time off work without pay after I would quickly exhaust my allotted vacation time. Insurance won’t cover a dime of it. I originally hoped I would have made it down there by now, but I haven’t yet fully made the prerequisites, nor been ready to really commit to it on all levels. My long-term goal is still to go as the program really has great benefits even years post-stroke they say.

