Tags

, , , , ,

Every reference made in this post in my humble opinion needs to be at read/watched.

Another must Watch TEDx talk I stumbled across. I took great interest in every second of it. It’s a bit long @ 20 min, but totally worth it. BUT, while it made me really think, there are as always varying opinions on all of this as stated in Peter Levine’s blog here. Age (I was really young @ 45, but still not a spring chicken) along fatigue (holy shit yeah a factor!) are certainly debatable factors I would admit! Besides being able to recognize someone is having a stroke, aspects of this video if a loved one or friend knows such info, along with questioning the best route or somewhere in the middle may really make an enormous difference!!

I can’t begin to blame myself or more importantly anyone with me at the time for not knowing this for my case since the info is just nowhere near made available! I honestly was both fascinated & quite frankly angry to what I heard in the video. Extreme emphasis is placed on several early on factors immediately after the medically stable phase and moving into acute care. Survivor needs to be as active and ‘over-challenged‘ as possible using affected side, not alone & un-stimulated, rather engaged within a ‘fun’ environment. Now per Peter’s post above, maybe not forced to walk right away, but I feel the fun video offered up as an option soon into early rehab (should you be able to stay awake) is at least an interesting idea. To be fair, can’t really say I had none of these listed elements in my Hawaii hospital, but my experience certainly was nothing like he shows in the video toward the end!! Also interesting to see him talk about administering Prozac early on! It’s what my neurologist put me on once back here in Seattle many weeks post-stroke, but from the sounds of their research, it was once again, far too late. Then, out-patient rehab back here at home in Seattle sucked even more in these areas.

 

So once again, most everything all learned way late and too after-the-fact, no mater what side of the fence you are on.  Why isn’t this phenomenal research making it down to hospital & clinics where it may actually do some real good?? And why aren’t hospitals directing the necessary care & time to do such programs?  The whole system is deeply flawed!

Much of the video is directly related to extremely controversial studies on primates that Dr. Taub performed back in the 70’s that ended up launching PETA where he proved efficacy.  His work eventually became what is the Taub Clinic in Birmingham, AL. But is any of it practiced here in Seattle?  Certainly not at a large university affiliated hospital like Harborview! Now that I’m very much well into the Chronic phase, yes there is still some hope according to the CIMT work at the Taub clinic, but wow what an endeavour! Still very much considering, but loads of things will need to line up in my life to make it happen.

