Tags

, , , , , ,

This is something I initially looked all over the place for a decent, but not ridiculously expensive one.  I tried a few that were more of the media-center type that are ones where the keys are smaller and closer together and while they work OK, I didn’t find them too much easier.  I did buy one of these ‘chorded’ keyboards called a Twiddler as it sounded really cool and useful when knowing going back to work full-time was approaching. It was one of those lessons early on that costed me a fair amount – even though I bought it at a rather big discount, now have to just have it lie in my desk drawer.  It’s just like having to learn a new musical instrument as you have to hold down various combinations of keys to type (like guitar chords). Even though I haven’t completely given up on it, I suppose someone could get real good with it, but so far haven’t been too motivated to.

In the end, I now mostly type on a standard size one.  Why?  It’s the one I find in front of most everyone’s computer and being an IT guy I find it’s just best to get accustomed to typing on a standard one in most situations.

This is a nice post listing quite a few of what look pretty decent. And holy shitballs, when you Google it, you sure get loads of hits! I still would be willing to try others, but I find it tough. Like this one would be cool, but it’s left-handed of course since it’s for gamers. This also looks promising, but need to research more. And this one too may be worth looking into, I don’t know.

I also have a copy of Dragon Naturally Speaking that my employer was good to buy for me.  I spent quite a bit of time with a bit of patience and got it to work pretty well, but find it’s not at all practical for work.  I find myself constantly jumping around doing various tasks like remote work on Servers, IM’ing other co-workers, doing research, & typing Design docs among other tasks. About the only one of those examples it may work for is dictating a design doc if I’m working from home. My employer is most generous allowing me to work from my home office three days a week. But two of those are in the office and I can’t imagine those sitting around me would take to me chattering away using Dragon.

Where I see Dragon working great is on my MSFT Surface Pro 3 since it seems to have a great front-facing microphone, and since it’s a tablet you can take it anywhere.  So occasionally I use it on that.

