Tags

, , , , ,

I used to do a lot of the cooking around our house pre-stroke (having my chef background in a prior life & all).  Well now not yet having nearly enough motor control return in my affected hand, there isn’t a lot of meals I can prepare anymore mostly by myself.  But when I find one I can, it goes on our list for sure and I really like t give Jeanie a bit of a break whenever I can. Over time, I will post a few of the other dishes’ recipes as well.

Breakfast has always been my favorite meal of the day and Sunday mornings are special in our house…put on some good music, brew a pot of coffee and get away from the weekday humdrum.

The recipe below has been tweaked over time and often is Jeanie & my favorite all-time pancake recipe. We haven’t tasted anything close out in a restaurant. My criteria is it must have buckwheat, but prefer more substance to them rather than the flat ones if you order buckwheat out. The coconut oil & lemon zest really make this a unique taste I feel.  Lemme know what you think if you decide to try and make them!

1/2 cup Buckwheat flour

1/4 cup Whole Wheat Flour

3/4 AP Flour

1/2 t salt

1 T sugar

2 T Baking Powder

2 T coconut oil (unrefined – melted first)

2 eggs

1/2 cup buttermilk

1/2 cup almond milk

Vanilla

Grated lemon zest

Yogurt Alternative (in place of some of the Buttermilk)

1/2 cup Buckwheat flour

1/4 cup Whole Wheat Flour

3/4 cup AP Flour

1/2 t salt

1 T  sugar

2 T Baking Powder

2 T coconut oil (unrefined – melted first)

2 eggs

1 cup yogurt

2/3 cup coconut milk

Vanilla

Grated lemon zest

 Steps:

Stir dry ingredients together

Melt oil (Microwave works good if not already liquid) and pour into flour – mix dry till mealy texture (much like when making biscuits)

Whisk wet ingredients together in separate bowl

Stir wet into dry & dont overmix!

Add fresh blueberries, whatever

Let sit a a few minutes in bowl before pouring onto griddle

On a moderately hot cast iron griddle, melt butter (the real stuff!) and/or some other high-temp oil (Safflower, etc.)

Pour batter just as you would for other cakes, d’uh

 

